Locations of visitors to this page

This village is one of the most beautiful in England, it was given to the National Trust by Matilda Talbot in 1944. There are several narrow streets that lead off or aroundthe High Street forming a square which lead everyone to the church set in a picturesque corner of the village.  






The High Street looking towards West Street

The streets are lined with timber framed buildings, either of brick or stone. Most were built between the 14th and 18th century. There are houses with sharp gables, decorative overhangs, projecting eaves or dormer windows giving a variety of quaint frontages.







Houses adjacent to the church


The Angel Inn was built in the 14th century with additions in the 16th and 17th centuries. Close to the Angel Inn is a house with a 14th century doorway.


Lacock is full of differing architecture from early timber framework to Georgian making it a real pleasure to explore. Some cottages were weavers' dwellings.


The church of St. Cyriac

The Red Lion Hotel is an imposing structure in the High Street built in the 18th century and opposite

 is a 14th century tythe barn, nearby is the lock-up. At the end of the High Street, next to the entrance of Lacock Abbey and housed in a 16th century barn is the Fox Talbot Museum of Photography. Dedicated top the life and achievements  of William Fox Talbot who lived between 1800 and 1877.

At Lacock Abbey, William Fox Talbot founded in principle and practice the basis of modern day photography known as the possitive/negitive process.

Lacock Abbey was established and founded as a nunnery by Ela, Countess of Salisbury in 1232. Remaining are the medieval cloisters, chapter-house, sacristy and nuns' warming room. The 15th century monistary buildings were converted into a private house after 1539, by Sir William Sheringham, following the Dissolution. From his time many features remain, including the octaginal corner tower and the courtyard with half-timbered gables and clock tower.







A 16th century barn now the Fox Talbot Museum of Photography stands next to the entrance of Lacock Abbey

Sanderson Miller rebuilt the great hall for John Ivery Talbot in the Gothic style of the mid 18th century. The 19th century brought further changes and in 1835 William Fox Talbot, the poineer photographer, made the latticed oriel window in the south gallery, the subject of his first know photograph.


Lacock Abbey. established as a nunnery in 1232 by Ela,Countess of Salisbury, became the home of William Fox Talbot. The inventor of modern day photography

Lacock High Street St Cyriac's Church Lacock Fox Talbot Museum
Church Street Lacock

Church Street, Lacock

© Copyright Roger Cornfoot and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

FILMS LOCATED AT LACOCK

Pride and Prejudice: (1995 BBC TV production)

Emma (BBC 1996 TV production)

Cranford: (2007 BBC TV production)

Harry Potter
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Mariah Mundi and the Midas Box (2013)

Lacock Abbey

51°24'45.0"N 2°07'05.9"W

Lacock, Coordinates